Council’s Cabinet line-up confirmed

Birmingham City Council’s new Cabinet has been announced.
At the annual meeting of the council in the Council Chamber today (22 May), it was confirmed that Cllr Ian Ward will remain as Leader, while Cllr Brigid Jones will continue as Deputy Leader.
Cllr Ward also announced the rest of his Cabinet, which sees Cllrs Jayne Francis, Kate Booth, Waseem Zaffar and Sharon Thompson joining existing Cabinet members Cllrs Majid Mahmood, Paulette Hamilton, Brett O’Reilly and Tristan Chatfield.
Cllr Ward said:
“I am delighted that the new Cabinet more closely reflects the Birmingham population that we represent.
“I’m proud of the fact that in the centenary year for women’s suffrage, we have a 50/50 male-female split for the first time in the council’s history. Not only that, but this is also the most diverse Cabinet the council has ever had.
“We can now get on with the job of creating jobs, building homes and delivering the services that the people of Birmingham deserve.”
Full list of the cabinet:
Cllr Ian Ward – Leader
Cllr Brigid Jones – Deputy Leader
Cllr Jayne Francis – Education, Skills and Culture
Cllr Kate Booth – Children’s Wellbeing
Cllr Waseem Zaffar – Transport and Environment
Cllr Majid Mahmood – Clean Streets, Waste and Recycling
Cllr Paulette Hamilton – Health and Social Care
Cllr Sharon Thompson – Homes and Neighbourhoods
Cllr Brett O’Reilly – Finance and Resources
Cllr Tristan Chatfield – Social Inclusion, Community Safety and Equalities

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker